Brid wins December accolade   31/12/2018

After enduring the heartbreak of defeats in a number of finals the Ladies Footballers of Mourneabbey finally put all that behind them as they swept aside the challenge of Foxrock-Cabinteely on a dank evening in North Dublin to land the coveted All-Ireland club title.

The newly crowned champions had many stars but the performance of inspirational captain Brid O’Sullivan made her the stand out choice as the Decemeber winner of the 96FM/CO13 Sports Star award in association with the Rochestown Park Hotel.

In accepting the award Brid said “the goal of winning the All-Ireland really drove us on and I am really accepting this award on behalf of the team on and off the field.

Brid paid tribute to the Management team for their work all year and also thanked the sponsors for this recognition.

County Board Chairperson Tracey Kennedy was fulsome in her praise for Brid and her colleagues saying, “the spirit and determination you have shown over the years make you worthy champions and in Brid you have an inspirational captain who leads by example and I warmly congratulate you on your well deserved win.”

Tracey also thanked and congratulated 96FM/C103 and the Rochestown Park Hotel for their ongoing support and promotion of these very prestigious awards as they enter their 16th year.”

Tom Tobin Rochestown Park Hotel and Isabel Keane of 96FM also congratulated Brid on her award.

Joseph Blake newly elected PRO Cork County Board was in attendance while the Mourneabbey management team of Aisling Murphy, Ken O’Connell and Shane Roynane were also present as was Brid family members and playing colleagues Doireann and Roisin O’Sullivan and Anita Kelleher, to acknowledge an outstanding player.

Brid now joins the previous monthly winners ahead of the Gala Banquet on January 25th at which the overall winner will be announced.

January Pearse Murphy, February joint winners Lorcan O’Neill and Matthew Dilworth, March Linda Collins, April Jack Walsh, May Ruairi Deane, June Darragh Fitzgibbon, July Mark Coleman, August Robert O’Mahony, September Orla Cotter, October Ian Maguire and November Ger Aherne.

Photos can be found here (Courtesy of Tony O Connell)

Finbarr Mc Carthy


Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by