County Committee/Special Convention Report   02/10/2019

County Committee/Special Convention October 1st 2019

The evening commenced with a special convention to ratify new bye-laws covering already agreed changes to the structure of Rebel Óg, the new County Championship structures and some general adjustments to the current bye-laws. These were passed with some clarifications and will be circulated to clubs in due course.

The County Committee meeting then commenced with the adoption of the minutes of the previous meeting and the Progress Report.

Children’s Officer Des Cullinane spoke about the importance of Risk Assessment and Garda vetting  as outlined in the Progress Report.

Central and Munster Council reports were read and discussed, including a request from Kerry to enter the Munster Minor Hurling Championship which could have implications for the format of that Championship and was to be considered by the Executive.

The Runaí outlined the vision and process underpinning the recent hurling appointments, and the names of Kieran Kingston (Senior Hurling), Pat Ryan (U20 Hurling), Donal Óg Cusack (Minor Hurling) and Noel Furlong (U16 Hurling) were recommended to the Board by the Executive. Two delegates expressed serious reservations in relation to the Minor Hurling appointment, while a third was concerned about the style of hurling which might be played at Minor level, but otherwise the appointments were well received and all were ratified by the Board. See full details below.

The Runaí reported on CCC matters, including 2020 grading which was approved, and there was some discussion on the format of groupings for the new Championships. Draws were made for inter-divisional U21 A & B Hurling.

The motions for Special Congress were discussed, with the Congress delegation allowed to make their own decision on the Tier 2 football proposals having heard the views of the Division 4 and other Division 3 counties on the day.

Cultural Officer, Richard Murphy, reminded delegates about the stewards training day to be held on Saturday 9th November in Páirc Uí Chaoimh and all clubs were urged to try to get at least one new steward to attend.

The Chairperson announced the members of the Board’s new Audit and Risk Sub-Committee:

  • Gerard Lyons, (Chair) retired audit partner from Deloitte;
  • Ciarán Murphy, former Emeritus Dean of Cork University Business School and current Emeritus Professor of Business Information Systems at UCC;
  • Róisín O'Sullivan, Audit Associate Director at KPMG and Mourneabbey ladies footballer;
  • Michael Harte, Chief Financial Officer at Dairygold and member of Douglas GAA Club.

Congratulations were extended to Conor Corbett on winning the Electric Ireland Minor Footballer of the Year and the other Cork players who were named on the team of the year. Brian Hurley, Alan Cadogan and Patrick Horgan were congratulated on their All-Star nominations and Patrick Horgan on his Player of the Year nomination. Congratulations were also extended to Conor Lane who refereed the All Ireland Football Final Replay.

The meeting concluded with votes on sympathy.

The next meeting will take place on November 5th.

Hurling Appointments

Cork County Board has appointed Kieran Kingston (Tracton) as manager of the Cork Senior hurling team for a three-year term, along with coach Ger Cunningham (St. Finbarr’s) and Diarmuid O’Sullivan (Cloyne). A full backroom team will be announced at a later date.

Pat Ryan (Sarsfields) will take the helm at U20 for a two-year term, joined by Donal O’Mahony (Bishopstown), Brendan Coleman (Youghal), Fergal Condon (Aghada) and Wayne Sherlock (Blackrock).

Donal Óg Cusack (Cloyne) is Minor (U17) manager on a one-year basis for 2020, joined by Seán Óg Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh), Tom Kenny (Grenagh), and further selectors to be appointed, one of whom will provide a link to the current under-age playing base. 

With the pathway for the progress of younger coaches a major priority, the Board has also appointed current U15 manager Noel Furlong (Carrigtwohill) as U16 manager for a two-year term, with Seanie McGrath (Bantry Blues), Niall McCarthy (Carrigtwohill), Ger O’Regan (St. Finbarr’s) and David Dorgan (Fr. O’Neill’s) as selectors.

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by