The annual Cork's 96FM/C103 Sports Star of the Year gala 2018-02-02 08:00:00

The annual Cork's 96FM/C103 Sports Star of the Year gala will take place in the Rochestown Park Hotel tonight Friday 2nd February. The Cork's 96FM/C103 Sports Star of the Year for 2017 will be chosen from the 12 worthy recipients of the monthly awards. The distinguished Career and Kieran O Driscoll awards will also be presented on the night. The 12 recipients of the 2017 monthly awards are
David Drummond Coachford College;
A special month for David and the school’s senior football team as they win the Munster ‘B’ Cship defeating Mitchelstown in the final.
It is just reward for a man who has been coaching teams in the school for 14 years and this year with the assistance of Adrigole’s Kevin Jer O’Sullivan they claim the title.
The team was backboned by 6 clubs within the Muskerry Division and got excellent support from all along with John Deasy and Gerry Dineen.

Shane O’Donovan Mayfield
The 18th of February 2017 is a date that will forever be etched in the memory bank of a legion of Mayfield supporters as on a never to be forgotten afternoon in Croke Park this famous Northside club were crowned All-Ireland Junior Hurling Champions.
In their 1 point victory over Kilkenny’s Mooncoin their centre-back and captain Shane O’Donovan gave a master class in the art of defending and leadership a worthy recipient. 

Luke Meade Mary I and Cork
The prestigious Fitzgibbon Cup did not find a resting place on Leeside but there was a strong Cork representation on the wining Mary Immaculata team, coached by Kilbrittains Jamie Wall and Newtownshandrum’s Conor Twomey.
Newcestown’s Luke Meade played a pivotal role over the weekend and also impressed with Cork scoring crucial goals in the league wins over Waterford and Tipperary. 

Niamh Ni Chaoimh Cork Camogie;
An inspirational Captain Niamh was a pivotal player as Cork went through Division 2 of the National league unbeaten and capped an exciting few months by defeating Derry to capture the title.
Niamh and her team mates also enjoyed an excellent C’ship campaign and were unlucky to lose the All-Ireland Final to Meath after a re-play. 

Michael Cahalane Cork and Bandon Hurlers;
A fairytale stole for this young star from Bandon, who overcame a serious illness to return to action for club and county.
Bandon had a great to their 1st season back in the senior ranks of Cork hurling and the fairytale was complete as Michael struck the crucial goal as Cork defeated All-Ireland champions Tipperary in the Munster C’ship win in Thurles.

Damien Cahalane Cork and St Finbarrs Hurlers;
A monthly winner in football a few years ago, Damien completed a nice double with a hurling accolade following a string of outstanding displays with both Cork and St Finbarr’s.
Who will ever forget his remarkable solo run from defence in the closing stages of the Munster Final, that set up a clinching point as Cork were crowned Munster Champions.

Brian and Eoin Roche Cork U17 and Minor Champions; 
The second set of brothers to be honoured as they play vital roles as this classy team were crowned Munster Champions with some quality displays.
In the All-Ireland series Brian and Eoin continued to excel as Cork saw off the challenge of Galway and Dublin to win this inaugural C’ship the final of which was played in Croke Park.
The up and coming Bride Rover’s stars were also members of the Cork Minor Hurling team, that captured the Munster C’ship. 
Brian Turnbull Cork Minor Hurlers;
A season in which Brian as a member of the Cork minor hurlers left an indelible mark with his scoring exploits along with his all round general play made him a vital member of a team that captured the public’s imagination, 10,000 at a Munster semi-final on a Monday evening in Pairc Ui Rinn. 
Brian was top scorer in the All-Ireland Minor C’ship was named the Electric Ireland Minor Hurler of the year and completed a inoque double when named as Munster Minor Hurler of the year a short few weeks ago.
A player we are going to hear a lot more off with his club Douglas and in the ‘red and white’ of Cork.
Aoife Murray Cork Camogie All-Ireland Champions;
A dramatic All-Ireland Final as Cork win their 27th title to top the roll of honour an 8th Senior medal and yet another All-Star for the top goalkeeper in the country.
Aoife has been an integral part of the Cork team for many years now
And her dedication to the cause is evident that despite been based in Dublin rarely misses a training session.

October ;
Luke Connolly Nemo Rangers
As Nemo collected their 20th County title and their 16th Munster Club C’ship Luke was a key figure thoughout with his fantastic scoring exploits among them some cracking goals.
Luke scored 0-10 in the Munster Club Final win over Dr Crokes and also enjoyed a great season with the Cork footballers.
A player that is sure to be a vital cog for Nemo and Cork in the year ahead.
Darren Browne;
A season never to be forgotten in Kanturk, a Cork C’ship double, senior status in hurling and a Munster title thrown in.
In all 14 C’ships games played in huling and football and Darren a member of the Cork Under 21 hurling panel played in everyone of them.
The Mary I student has an All-Ireland Final v St Patrick’s Ballyraggett on Sunday next to look forward to as Croke Park beckons for Darren and his club mates. 

Anthony O’Connor Knocknagree
Another Duhallow Club complete a memorable season winning County and Munster Junior Football titles and in the process break Kerry’s grip on the provincial title.
Through it all Anthony was a key player and his crucial goals in both finals went a long way to securing the double.
Knocknagree and Anthony are now preparing for an All-Ireland Final in Croke Park on Saturday next against Westmeath champions Multyfarnham.

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by