Cork qualify for the Munster Final with a win over Waterford 2018-06-20 23:00:00

Courtesy of Denis Hurley via


Cork booked their place in the final of the Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 Hurling Championship as they surged past Waterford in the final quarter at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Wednesday evening.

With five players who had featured in this year’s senior provincial championship against none for Waterford, the Rebels were heavily fancied but they were subjected to a strong challenge from their visitors, who seized the initiative thanks to a ninth-minute goal from John Paul Lucey.

That made 1-2 to 0-2 for Waterford, who had the wind behind them, and they were five ahead after Andrew Casey and Neil Montgomery had points. Cork sought to find a way back but goalkeeper Billy Nolan – who had earlier saved from Shane Kingston – and corner-back Darragh Lynch combined to repel a Michael O’Halloran effort.

Pic: George Hatchell

While Declan Dalton’s frees brought Cork back closer to Waterford, the lead was still a goal, 1-8 to 0-8, at half-time and Lucey and Darragh Lyons had early second-half points for the Déise.

However, Cork were much improved and five points in seven minutes had them level at 0-13 to 1-10, with sub Daire Connery impressing while Darragh Fitzgibbon and Billy Hennessy were also to the fore.

Jack Prendergast and goalkeeper Nolan had frees as Waterford moved in front again and sub Iarlaith Daly replied when Jack O’Connor and Kingston levelled again, but it was the last time they were to lead.

Pic: George Hatchell

When Fitzgibbon tied matters once more, another senior star, Mark Coleman, put Cork in front for the first time and they got stronger as the end neared. They will face either Tipperary or Limerick, again at Páirc Uí Chaoimh in the final on July 4.

Scorers for Cork: Declan Dalton 0-8 (frees), Darragh Fitzgibbon 0-3, Shane Kingston, Robbie O’Flynn, Jack O’Connor, Daire Connery, Liam Healy 0-2 each, Mark Coleman, Conor Cahalane 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: John Paul Lucey 1-2, Jack Prendergast 0-4 (frees), Billy Nolan 0-3 (frees), Andrew Casey 0-2, Peter Hogan, Darragh Lyons, Neil Montgomery, Iarlaith Daly, Conor Prunty, Calum Lyons 0-1 each.

CORK: Ger Collins (Ballinhassig); David Lowney (Clonakilty), David Griffin (Carrigaline), Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons); Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields), Mark Coleman (Blarney), Billy Hennessy (St Finbarr’s); Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville); Robbie O’Flynn (Erin’s Own), Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills), Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock); Liam Healy (Sarsfields), Shane Kingston (Douglas), Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields).

Subs: Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh) for O’Halloran (36), Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s) for O’Leary (44), Liam O’Shea (Lisgoold) for O’Connor (60).

WATERFORD: Billy Nolan (Roanmore); John Curran (Dungarvan), Mikey Daykin (Mount Sion), Darragh Lynch (Passage); Conor Prunty (Abbeyside), Jordan Henley (Tallow), Garry Cullinane (Passage); Andrew Casey (Ballyduff Upper), Mikey Mahony (Ballygunner); Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan), John Paul Lucey (Shamrocks), Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside); Eddie Meaney (De La Salle), Jack Prendergast (Tramore), Peter Hogan (Ballygunner).

Subs: Ian Beecher (Tallow) for Casey (42), Iarlaith Daly (Lismore) for Montgomery (54), Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower) for Lynch (49), Harry Ruddle (Ballygunner) for Meaney (60).

Referee: John McCormack (Tipperary).

Car Insurance Ireland
site designed & developed by