U21 A County Hurling title for Fermoy

Report By Therese O’Callaghan for The Echo newspaper (www.echolive.ie

Twomey strikes crucial score as Fermoy U21 hurlers beat Newcestown
Fermoy 1-17 Newcestown 1-15
A goal in the 53rd minute from Ben Twomey was enough to secure victory for Fermoy in the Cork U21 A hurling championship final at the 4G pitch in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The scoreboard was deadlocked at the time, 0-13 apiece, with both sides having periods of success. But Twomey’s strike, after he was put through by Dale Dawson, enabled Fermoy win this exciting and entertaining decider which was watched by a large crowd.

Newcestown did put themselves back in contention with an injury-time goal from sub Daire McAree — but the clock was not on their side. As well, they were left to rue too many wides, ending up with twice as many as Fermoy.
Both teams enjoyed dominant spells in an entertaining spectacle. And both sides had excellent free-takers in David Lardner (0-11) and Edmund Kenneally (0-9).

Fermoy were 0-9 to 0-7 ahead at the break. As well as Lardner; Adam Creed, Ronan Morrison, James Fitzpatrick, and Darragh Daly found the target.

Newcestown, who won the Cork U21B football final last weekend and only came through their hurling semi-final on Friday night, challenged all the way, with Colm Dineen among their scorers. However, they hit 11 wides alone in that opening half which would prove costly.

A strong second-half start for the west Cork men who had the wind at their backs, saw them move three up. However, in keeping with the see-saw nature of the match, Fermoy drew level around the three-quarter mark.
Twomey’s goal then edged Fermoy in front and two placed balls from Lardner made it a five-point game with the clock counting down.

But this Newcestown team, as they have proved throughout this championship, die hard, and when McAree found the net in stoppage time they only trailed by one.

Twomey came to his side’s rescue and his 65th-minute point ensured Fermoy saw out this contest.

Scorers for Fermoy: D Lardner 0-11 (0-9 f, 0-2 65), B Twomey 1-1, R Morrison, D Daly, D Dawson, J Fitzpatrick and A Creed 0-1 each.

Scorers for Newcestown: E Kenneally 0-9 (0-7 f), C Dineen 0-4 (0-1 f), D McAree 1-0, E Collins (f), P Collins 0-1 each.

FERMOY: J Shanahan; C Condon, J Scannell, R O’Sullivan; L Aherne, G Lardner, S McCarthy; R Morrison (c), D Daly; D Lardner, D Dawson, J Molloy; J Fitzpatrick, A Creed, B Twomey.
Sub: C Roche for G Lardner (60).

NEWCESTOWN: C Wilson; G Murphy, J Kelleher (c), D Buttimer; S O’Sullivan, M Shorten, E Collins; O Walsh, C Dineen; C Goggin, P Collins, D Buckley; E Kenneally, C O’Donovan, S Scanlon.
Subs: G O’Donovan for S Scanlon (half time), D McAree for P Collins (55).

Referee: Brian Murphy (Carrigtwohill)

Fermoy and Newcestown will contest this years U21 A final today in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

To qualify for the final Newcestown beat Eire Og by two points while Fermoy had 3 points to spare over Nemo Rangers.

U21 A Hurling Championship Final:
Fermoy v Newcestown ,
Venue: P Ui Chaoimh 4G,