Cork win Canon O’Brien Cup

Cork hurlers opening game of the season was against UCCs Fitzgibbon Cup team.

A sizeable crowd braved the winter chill to see Cork take the Canon O’Brien Cup in the Mardyke – and, in honesty, to run the rule over Mark Keane, the newcomer to the Cork senior hurling team, who featured in the game.

Full report by Michael Moyihan is on

Scorers for Cork: S. Kingston (0-4 frees, 0-2 65s)(0-8); D. Fitzgibbon (1-1); C. Lehane (0-2); G. Millerick, M. Coleman, S. Harnedy, L. Meade, M. Keane, R. O’Flynn (0-1 each).

Scorers for UCC: W. Henn (0-7 frees)(0-10); S. Kenefick (1-1); M. Kehoe (0-2); C. Bowe, C. Cahalane (0-1 each)

CORK: G. Collins; S. O’Donoghue, G. Millerick, D. Cahalane; T. O’Mahony, M. Coleman (c), J. O’Flynn; C. Joyce, D. Fitzgibbon; M. Keane, S. Harnedy, C. Lehane; S. Kingston, A. Cadogan, L. Meade.

Subs: S. Twomey, R. O’Flynn, P. Power and C. O’Brien for Keane, Lehane, Meade and Cadogan (all 42); P. Horgan for O’Mahony (inj. 50); Meade for Millerick (55).

UCC: (Cork unless stated): I. Butler (Kildorrery); I. Daly (Lismore, Waterford), N. O’Leary (Castlelyons), K. O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary); R. Downey (Glen Rovers), T. O’Connell (Midleton), C. Barry (Ahane, Limerick); C. Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), C. O’Brien (Newtownshandrum); C. Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy, Tipperary), C. Boylan (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick), W. Henn (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick); M. Kehoe (Kilsheelin-Kilcash, Tipperary); S. Barrett (Blarney), S. Kenefick (Glen Rovers).

Subs: D. O’Leary (Watergrasshill) for Daly (40); S. Condon for C. Boylan (inj. 43); J. McCarthy (St Finbarr’s) for Butler (55).

Referee: M. Maher (St Finbarr’s).