Cork Crowned Glen Dimplex All-Ireland Senior Camogie Champions

Cork’s long-awaited drought has finally ended as they claimed victory in the 2021 Glen Dimplex All-Ireland senior camogie championship at Croke Park.

Cork hadn’t won the championship since 2018 and had lost in the final over the last two seasons. However, they were determined to put that right, and they did.

Led by an impressive group of players, including Aoife Healy, Libby Coppinger, Katrina Mackey, and Hannah Looney, Cork dominated the game from start to finish. Captain Amy O’Connor was an influential figure, leading the team by example, and scoring three goals in the first five minutes of the second half to secure the victory.

 In a low-scoring start, Chloe Sigerson doubled Cork’s lead with a long-distance free, before O’Connor landed two more points to make it 0-4 to no score.

Waterford’s Beth Carton fired over a point from a distance to make it a three-point game, but Cork continued to dominate. Sorcha McCartan batted the ball to the back of the net to make it 1-7 to 0-1, before Carton landed another free for Waterford. However, the Rebels were too strong, and they led 1-9 to 0-3 at half-time, thanks to O’Connor’s two goals.

Cork got off to a perfect start in the second half, with Fiona Keating bursting forward and playing O’Connor in to raise Cork’s second green flag. Within a minute, O’Connor had her second goal, this time set up by Mackey, and from the restart, Mackey regained possession and played in O’Connor to complete her hat-trick. With the score at 4-9 to 0-3, it was game over, and Cork emerged victorious.

The final score was 5-11 to 0-7, with Orla Cronin playing a sublime ball to Fiona Keating for the fifth goal. Cork’s victory was a testament to their skill, determination, and teamwork, and they celebrated the win in style.

Scorers for Cork: A O’Connor 3-7 (0-5 f), S McCartan 1-1, F Keating 1-0, K Mackey 0-2, C Sigerson (f), H Looney, O Cahalane 0-1 each.

Waterford: B Carton 0-7 (0-6 f), N Rockett, L Forrest 0-1 each.

CORK: A Lee (Na Piarsaigh); L Hayes (St Catherine’s), L Coppinger (St Colums), P Mackey (Douglas); M Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), L Treacy (Killeagh), I O’Regan (Ballygarvan); S McCarthy (Courcey Rovers), A Healy (Aghada); C Sigerson (Killeagh), F Keating (Courcey Rovers), H Looney (Killeagh); A O’Connor (St Vincent’s), K Mackey (Douglas), S McCartan (St Finbarr’s).

Subs: C Healy (Aghabullogue) for L Hayes (44), O Cronin (Enniskeane) for S McCartan (46), A Thompson (Milford) for S McCarthy (50), O Cahalane (St Finbarr’s) for C Sigerson (52), M Murphy (Ballinora) for P Mackey (53).

WATERFORD: B O’Regan; V Falconer, L Forrest, K Lynch; K Corbett Barry, C Carroll, M Power; O Hickey, A Flynn; M O’Brien, B Carton, L Bray; A Fitzgerald, N Rockett, R Walsh.

Subs: I Heffernan for V Falconer (3 inj), B Bowdren for M Power (ht), T Power for M O’Brien (40), C Griffin for C Carroll (42), S Fitzgerald for K Lynch (56).

Referee: John Dermody (Westmeath).