Sars win Premier Senior Championship

Sarsfields 0-21  Midleton 0-19

When Sarsfields won the Cork SHC in 2008 to end a 51-year wait, Teddy McCarthy was one of Bertie Óg Murphy’s selectors.

Having had to endure such a wait since 1957, the nine-year gap since 2014 until now could never compare but its bridging still brought a welter of emotion. And, while Teddy Mac could not be there in person, he was certainly there in spirit, his memory honoured long and loud by the Rivrstown faithful.

Sars didn’t lead until the 51st minute of the encounter, when Aaron Myers scored his tenth point to make it 0-18 to 0-17, but they had wiped out what was a five-point lead early in the second half and continued to enjoy the upper hand for what was left.


Scorers for Sarsfields: A Myers 0-12 (0-8f), Cathal McCarthy 0-4, J O’Connor 0-2, D Kearney, Colm McCarthy, D Hogan 0-1 each.

Midleton: C Lehane 0-7 (0-4f), R O’Regan 0-3, P Haughney, M Finn (0-1 sideline) 0-2 each, T O’Connell, S O’Sullivan, P White, C Beausang, T O’Leary Hayes 0-1 each.

SARSFIELDS: D McCarthy; Cathal McCarthy, C Leahy, P Leopold; B Murphy, E Murphy, L Elliott; C O’Sullivan, D Kearney; D Hogan, Colm McCarthy, A Myers; J O’Connor, C Darcy, S O’Regan.

Subs: L Hackett for O’Regan (43), J Sweeney for Darcy (49), B Nodwell for Hogan (53),

MIDLETON: B Saunderson; S Smyth, S O’Sullivan, S O’Leary Hayes; E Moloney, T O’Connell, C Smyth; M Finn, P Haughney; D Cremin, C Lehane, R O’Regan; C Beausang, L O’Farrell, P White.

Subs: P Connaughton for Cremin (45), T O’Leary Hayes for White (60).

Referee: C O’Regan (Ballyhea).