Castlehaven Regains Cork Football Crown with Outstanding Victory

In a spectacular showdown, Castlehaven reasserted themselves as the kings of Cork football, winning the coveted Andy Scannell Cup for the first time since 2013. Their triumph came in a breathtaking final against defending champions Nemo Rangers, and the thrilling contest took place at the SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh on  Sunday evening.

Castlehaven’s victory marked a long-awaited return to the pinnacle of Cork football. The team had not claimed the title since their last victory a decade ago in 2013. After facing disappointment in the 2015 and 2020 finals against Nemo Rangers, this win was indeed a redemption for the Haven.

The hero of the day for Castlehaven was none other than Brian Hurley, who delivered an incredible performance by scoring an impressive 0-5 points from play. His remarkable contribution was a crucial element in securing the coveted title for Castlehaven.


Scorers for Castlehaven: B Hurley (0-3 f, 0-1 m), M Hurley 0-5 each, S Browne 0-1.

Nemo Rangers: L Connolly (0-1 f), M Cronin (f) 0-3 each, J Horgan, B Cripps, B O’Driscoll 0-1 each.

CASTLEHAVEN: Darragh Cahalane; J O’Regan, Damien Cahalane, R Walsh; T O’Mahony, R Maguire, M Collins (capt); C Cahalane, A Whelton; J O’Neill, C Maguire, S Browne; J Cahalane, B Hurley, M Hurley.

Subs: C O’Driscoll for S Browne (47), R Minihane for A Whelton (49), J O’Driscoll for J O’Neill (56), C O’Sullivan for T O’Mahony (60).

NEMO RANGERS: M Aodh Martin; K Histon, B Murphy, K O’Donovan; C Molloy, K Fulganati, S Cronin; B Cripps, A O’Donovan (capt); C Horgan, M Cronin, J Horgan; B O’Driscoll, L Horgan, L Connolly.

Subs: P Kerrigan for L Horgan (45), R Dalton for B O’Driscoll (47), G Sayers for C Molloy (49), C Kiely for C Horgan (56).

Referee: Pa O’Driscoll (Bride Rovers).