Newcestown Secures Thrilling Victory in Co-Op Superstores SAHC Replay

Newcestown 3-17 Blarney 0-24 

The sporting world was treated to another chapter in the incredible story of Newcestown as their hurling team secured a thrilling victory over Blarney in a breathtaking replay of the Co-Op Superstores SAHC at SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Saturday last.

In a match filled with drama, Newcestown took control early with a trio of first-half goals that propelled them into the lead. Despite the challenging conditions, both teams battled fiercely for every breaking ball on the rain-soaked turf of the Páirc.

Upon close analysis, it became evident that the West Cork men had an edge in terms of balance and performance. Their three first-half goals, combined with outstanding contributions from players like Eddie Keneally, Richard O’Sullivan, and Luke Meade, proved to be the key ingredients of their victory.

While the loss was undoubtedly a bitter disappointment for Blarney, who saw stellar performances from Pádraig Power and Shane Barrett, they can take solace in the fact that they put on an incredible display in what was arguably “the game of the season.” This loss will undoubtedly fuel their determination to come back even stronger.

As the dust settles on this electrifying contest, one thing is certain – top-grade hurling will return to the vibrant landscape of West Cork in 2024. Fans and enthusiasts can look forward to more exhilarating clashes and unforgettable moments on the hurling field.

Newcestown’s victory is not just a testament to their skill and determination but also a reminder of the passion and spirit that define Gaelic games. It is yet another shining example of the drama and excitement that these competitions bring to the sporting world.

Scorers for Newcestown: E Kenneally 1-6 (0-5 f), R O’Sullivan 1-4, C Dinneen 1-1, E Collins 0-2, S O’Donovan, D Buckley, J Meade (sl), C O’Donovan 0-1 each.

Blarney: S Barrett 0-9 (0-4 f, 0-1 65), P Power 0-4, M Coleman (0-1 sl), S Mulcahy, J O’Keeffe 0-2 each, C Dunlea, C Hegarty, C McCarthy, E Kirby, C Barrett 0-1 each.

NEWCESTOWN: C Wilson; J Kelleher, M McSweeney, G O’Donovan; C O’Neill, L Meade, E Collins; T Twomey, N Kelly; S O’Donovan, J Meade, D Buckley; E Kenneally, C Dinneen, R O’Sullivan.

Subs: T Horgan for Kelly (46), S O’Sullivan for Dinneen (53), F Keane for Kelleher (60), C O’Donovan for O’Sullivan (61).

BLARNEY: C Murphy; P O’Leary, D Murphy, S Crowley; J O’Keeffe, P Crowley, C Power (c); O Hegarty, C Hegarty; S Mulcahy, M Coleman, C Barrett; S Barrett, P Power, C Dunlea.

Subs: C McCarthy for C Power (h-t), E Kirby for Dunlea (35).

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Aghada).