SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh hosts Munster Rugby game

Munster captain Alex Kendellen lifts the trophy.

Munster edged out Superb Rugby champions Crusaders on another memorable night in SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh in front of a sold-out crowd of 40,885.

It was an entertaining encounter between the URC champions and the New Zealanders which produced an exciting finish.


Former Munster coach Rob Penney saw his Crusaders side almost snatch a draw when they crossed for a try with the clock two minutes in the red but they were unable to add the conversion.

The scene was set when Crusaders performed the first Haka at SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh ahead of kick-off.

Munster led 14-7 at the end of an opening half where they were on top for long periods.

They hit the front after a good bout of possession when Gavin Coombes got in for his first try after 15 minutes after Shane Daly was stopped short.

Joey Carbery added the extras from the left wing to make it 7-0.

Daly was denied a try four minutes later when three Crusaders managed to get back to prevent him grounding the ball after another good build-up.

But the pressure paid off six minutes from the break when Munster went to the corner with a penalty. Hooker Eoghan Clarke was stopped short but from the recycle Coombes got over for his second try.

Carbery again converted for 14-0.

But Crusaders hit back before the interval with scrum-half Mitch Drummond scoring after being set up by Macca Springer and Dallas McLeod. Taha Kemera converted to leave it 14-7 at the break.

Crusaders got back on level terms after 66 minutes when McLeod got in for a try which Rivez Reihana converted to make it 14-14.

But Munster hit the front ten minutes from time when they were again rewarded for going to the corner and a few phases later Scott Buckley squeezed over and Carbery converted to lead 21-14.

Crusaders finished strongly but while Jamie Hannah got in for their third try, the conversion from Rivez Reihana drifted across goal and Munster held on to back up their win last season over South Africa A with another win at SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh.


Eoghan Clarke and Ruadhán Quinn made their first starts for Munster.

Colm Hogan and Kamil Nowak made their Munster debuts.

Gavin Coombes was named Player of the Match.

Munster: Shane Daly; Seán O’Brien (Colm Hogan, 76), Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell (Rory Scannell, 54), Shay McCarthy (Tony Butler, 65); Joey Carbery, Ethan Coughlan (Neil Cronin, 54); Josh Wycherley (Mark Donnelly, 68), Eoghan Clarke (Scott Buckley, 50), Stephen Archer (John Ryan, 50); Gavin Coombes, Fineen Wycherley (Kamil Nowak, 78); Ruadhán Quinn (Jack Daly, 69), Alex Kendellen (C), Jack O’Sullivan (Daniel Okeke, 80).