History – Founding of County Board

The Founding of Cork County Board

A meeting of delegates representing all the clubs in the city and county of Cork who were affiliated to the GAA was held on December 19th, 1886 at Alderman Horgan’s, Maylor Street.
The purpose of this meeting was to elect a County Committee consisting of a chairman, honorary secretary and five others, in pursuance of a resolution at the recent Thurles Convention. The Committee was to have the power to decide all questions of affiliation that might arise in the county, and of arranging preliminary ties in the hurling, football, handball and athletics championships. The attendance was large and representative, and the proceedings throughout appear to have been on a most harmonious nature.

Delegates present:
Carrignavar AC: W Sheehan
Riverstown AC: D Walsh
St. Finbarr’s NHC: E Callanan
Ryecourt AC: MJ Keane
Dunmanway GAA: J O’Donovan
Cork Gymnasium Club: M Deering
Little Island AC: P Scott
Blackpool NHC: J Cory
Cork ACC: Alderman D Horgan
Lee AC&Football Club: M Daly
Wolfe Tone H&F Club: JB Higgins
Ballygarvan NHC: J Coleman
Quarry Road NHC: CJ Riordan
Evergreen NHC: J Murphy
St. Mary’s HC: J Sheehan
Cork Nationals H&F Club: T Leahy
Ballinhassig HC: D Duggan
Aghada NHC: D O’Connell
Inniscarra NHC: JJ O’Mahony
Aghabullogue H&F Club: TF Twomey
Blarney H&F Club: E Cotter

Also in attendance were Mr. JE Kennedy, Vice-president of the GAA and Mr. T O’Riordan, GAA honorary secretary.

On the motion of Mr. Keating, seconded by Mr. Daly, Mr. Kennedy was moved to the chair. Mr. Higgins then proposed that Alderman Horgan be elected chairman of the County Committee, and Mr. D Walsh seconded. Mr. E Fitzgerald was proposed by Mr. Leahy and seconded by Mr. Callanan. After the vote, Alderman Horgan was declared elected amidst applause.
Mr. Scott then proposed that Mr. DM Lane, hon. Sec. Cork Nationals, be elected as honorary secretary of the County Committee. Alderman Horgan proposed that Mr. Robert Walsh be elected to the position, and this was seconded by Mr. Deering, but as these two gentlemen belonged to the same club, Mr. Walsh withdrew and Mr. Lane was elected.

Before the election of the Committee, it was declared that no club could have more than one member elected. Eleven names were submitted, and after a poll, the following were elected: P Scott (Little Island), D O’Mahony (Aghabullogue), T O’Sullivan (Inniscarra), W Sheehan (Carrignavar) and E Cotter (Blarney).
The unsuccessful candidates were : JB Higgins (Mogeely), C McDonnell (Aghada), E Callanan (St. Finbarr’s), J Riordan (Quarry Road), D McGrath (Douglas) and J Murphy (Evergreen).
A vote of thanks was passed to Mr. Kennedy for presiding and this concluded the meeting.

On January 30th, 1887, the following draws were made for the first County Championships:

Emmets v Lees
Lisgoold v Midleton
Carrignavar v Glanmire
Blarney bye