The First Double – 1890

The First Double – 1890
Hurling – Aghabullogue
In the County Hurling Final of 1890, played on July 14th in Mallow, Aghabullogue defeated Aghada in Blarney on a scoreline of 7-3 to 1-1 .
They then got a walkover from Waterford in the Munster Championship, and defeated Kilmoyley of Kerry 2-0 to 0-1 in the Munster Final, played in Limerick.
The All-Ireland Final against Castlebridge of Wexford took place at Clonturk Park, Dublin. Both sides played in their bare feet. Cork were much the superior hurlers and when Wexford adopted less-than-sportsmanlike tactics in the second half, the Cork captain, Dan Lane, withdrew his team from the field with the referee’s permission. The score at the time was Cork 1-6, Wexford 2-2, and the match was subsequently awarded to Cork.
Aghabullogue: D Lane (Capt), J Hinchion, J Buckley, D Linehan, D Looney, T O Connor, D Drew, T Twomey, M Horgan, P Buckley, J Reilly, T Kelleher, J Kelleher, P Riordan, D Sullivan, T Good, D Horgan, J Linehan, J Sullivan, E Reilly, P Riordan.

Football – Midleton
Midleton retained their County Football title by defeating Dromtarriffe in Mallow on July 21st.
They then met Kinsalebeg of Waterford in the opening round of the Munster championship in Youghal, a game which they won on a scoreline of 0-6 to 0-0. Laune Rangers of Kerry provided the Munster Final opposition, but after 57 minutes the game ended scoreless when the ball burst and no replacement was available. Midleton won the replay, played at Banteer on October 19th, by 1-4 to 0-1.
They beat Armagh Harps in the semi-final, 1-15 to 0-2, and were due to play the Wexford champions, Blues and Whites, in the All-Ireland Final. However, the opposition failed to turn up and the game was not played for another 18 months, June 1892, when Midleton finally recorded the second leg of the double on a scoreline of 2-4 to 0-1.
Midleton: J Power (Capt), P Moore, J Leahy, D Kelleher, M Coleman, T Lucey, J Fitzgerald, J Fitzgerald, T Downey, M Riordan, R Power, JD O\’Brien, M Hennessy, W Hennessy, M Egan, J Aherne, M Murphy, M Buckley, W Buckley, J Downey, P Sullivan.

*The County Board marked the achievements of Midleton and Aghabullogue by the unveiling of plaques as part of the GAA 125 celebrations.
Top (Aghabullogue) Members of the County PR Committee at the unveiling: John Tarrant (Duhallow), Gerard Lane (County PRO), Tracey Kennedy (Imokilly), Jim Forbes (Carrigdhoun), Martin O’Brien (Minor Board)
Bottom (Midleton) Members of the County PR Committee at the unveiling: Derek Connolly (Seandún), Gerard Lane (County PRO), Tracey Kennedy (Imokilly), Martin O’Brien (Minor Board), Jerry O’Sullivan (County Chairman)