U21A County Final

All roads lead to Pairc Uí Chaoimh today ahead of the U21A County Football Final.

Ballincollig and St. Michael’s will go head to head.

Game will start at 2:15pm .

Today’s finals details

U21 A County Hurling title for Fermoy

Report By Therese O’Callaghan for The Echo newspaper (

Twomey strikes crucial score as Fermoy U21 hurlers beat Newcestown
Fermoy 1-17 Newcestown 1-15
A goal in the 53rd minute from Ben Twomey was enough to secure victory for Fermoy in the Cork U21 A hurling championship final at the 4G pitch in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The scoreboard was deadlocked at the time, 0-13 apiece, with both sides having periods of success. But Twomey’s strike, after he was put through by Dale Dawson, enabled Fermoy win this exciting and entertaining decider which was watched by a large crowd.

Newcestown did put themselves back in contention with an injury-time goal from sub Daire McAree — but the clock was not on their side. As well, they were left to rue too many wides, ending up with twice as many as Fermoy.
Both teams enjoyed dominant spells in an entertaining spectacle. And both sides had excellent free-takers in David Lardner (0-11) and Edmund Kenneally (0-9).

Fermoy were 0-9 to 0-7 ahead at the break. As well as Lardner; Adam Creed, Ronan Morrison, James Fitzpatrick, and Darragh Daly found the target.

Newcestown, who won the Cork U21B football final last weekend and only came through their hurling semi-final on Friday night, challenged all the way, with Colm Dineen among their scorers. However, they hit 11 wides alone in that opening half which would prove costly.

A strong second-half start for the west Cork men who had the wind at their backs, saw them move three up. However, in keeping with the see-saw nature of the match, Fermoy drew level around the three-quarter mark.
Twomey’s goal then edged Fermoy in front and two placed balls from Lardner made it a five-point game with the clock counting down.

But this Newcestown team, as they have proved throughout this championship, die hard, and when McAree found the net in stoppage time they only trailed by one.

Twomey came to his side’s rescue and his 65th-minute point ensured Fermoy saw out this contest.

Scorers for Fermoy: D Lardner 0-11 (0-9 f, 0-2 65), B Twomey 1-1, R Morrison, D Daly, D Dawson, J Fitzpatrick and A Creed 0-1 each.

Scorers for Newcestown: E Kenneally 0-9 (0-7 f), C Dineen 0-4 (0-1 f), D McAree 1-0, E Collins (f), P Collins 0-1 each.

FERMOY: J Shanahan; C Condon, J Scannell, R O’Sullivan; L Aherne, G Lardner, S McCarthy; R Morrison (c), D Daly; D Lardner, D Dawson, J Molloy; J Fitzpatrick, A Creed, B Twomey.
Sub: C Roche for G Lardner (60).

NEWCESTOWN: C Wilson; G Murphy, J Kelleher (c), D Buttimer; S O’Sullivan, M Shorten, E Collins; O Walsh, C Dineen; C Goggin, P Collins, D Buckley; E Kenneally, C O’Donovan, S Scanlon.
Subs: G O’Donovan for S Scanlon (half time), D McAree for P Collins (55).

Referee: Brian Murphy (Carrigtwohill)

Fermoy and Newcestown will contest this years U21 A final today in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

To qualify for the final Newcestown beat Eire Og by two points while Fermoy had 3 points to spare over Nemo Rangers.

U21 A Hurling Championship Final:
Fermoy v Newcestown ,
Venue: P Ui Chaoimh 4G,

U21 success for Sars

Liam Healy snatches U21 hurling crown for Sars after dramatic finish against Midleton

Sarsfields 2-17 Midleton 0-22

SARS were crowned Cork County U21 Premier 1 Hurling champions after they defeated Midleton in an extraordinary final at the Páirc Uí Chaoimh 4G.

The 2017 winners were trailing by two points deep into injury time but a stunning goal from full-forward Liam Healy snatched the crown from Midleton, who also narrowly lost last season.

Midleton opened the scoring inside the opening couple of minutes as Garan Manley fired over from a free but Sars equalised almost immediately thanks to Daniel Hogan.

The Magpies retook the lead a minute later as a brilliant catch from the excellent Tommy O’Connell allowed him to pick out his fellow midfielder Sam Quirke and he duly split the uprights from distance.

But following that frantic opening, Sars grabbed control of proceedings and led by the lethal Healy they hit five of the next six points to lead 0-6 to 0-3 at the end of the first quarter.

The two talented sides soon swapped three overs apiece before Midleton showed their quality and inspired their own full-forward Garan Manley, they scored four without reply to lead at the half time break, 0-10 to 0-9.

Sars hit 10 wides in that first period and that looked like it was going to cost them as their rivals added two more after the restart thanks to Kian Farmer.

But they showed their quality as Healy, Hogan and Graham raised three white flags in succession to level on 35.

They remained level on 47 but this time it was 0-15 each although Midleton were in the ascendancy.

The black and whites scored the next three points but Sars responded in that time with the opening goal from captain Jack O’Connor to ensure they remained tied.

Midleton thought they had won it in the closing stages as they scored four points to their opponent’s two but Healy found the far bottom right corner in stoppage time.

Scorers for Sarsfields: L Healy 1-9 (0-3 f, 0-1 65), D Hogan 0-5, J O’Connor 1-1, B Graham 0-2.

Midleton: G Manley 0-10 (0-7 f), T O’Connell 0-5 (0-1 f), K Farmer 0-3, S Quirke, P O’Brien, S O’Meara and R O’Reagan 0-1 each.

SARSFIELDS: C Looney; D Barry, K Crowley, K Walsh; S O’Driscoll, K Roche, K Murphy; C Darcy, J O’Leary; B Graham, J O’Connor, D Allen; D Hogan, L Healy, C McCarthy.

Subs: D Walsh for D Allen (h-t), A Hackett for J O’Leary (49), S Garvey for S O’Driscoll (56).

MIDLETON: A Power; C O’Brien, S O’Sullivan, A Daly; E Moloney, S O’Leary Hayes, C Gunning; S Quirke, T O’Connell; K Finn, S O’Meara, R O’Reagan; K Farmer, G Manley, P O’Brien.

Subs: A Mulcahy for K Finn (36), T O’Sullivan for P O’Brien (50).

Referee: Joe Larkin (Ballinora).



All roads lead to Páirc Uí Chaoimh today for the final of Premier 1 U21 Hurling Final.

Midleton and Sarsfields will battle it out for Dick Barrett Cup.

Sunday 22nd December 2019

Premier 1 U21 Hurling Championship Final:
Teams: Midleton v Sarsfields
Venue: P Ui Chaoimh 4G,
Time: 14:00

Castlemartyr are County U21 Champions

This seasons U21B Hurling title is heading to East Cork as Castlemartyr win by 5 points.

Full time score Castlemartyr 0-15 Killavullen 1-7

Newcestown are County U21 B Football Champions

County U21 B football title is heading West as Newcestown beat Aghabullogue after extra-time.

Full time score after extra time Newcestown 0-14 Aghabullogue 0-11

County U21 ‘B’ Hurling & Football Finals

Two U21 B finals are down for decision today in Pairc Uí Rinn.

U21 B Football Championship: Newcestown v Aghabullogue 15:15,

U21 B Hurling Championship : Killavullen v Castlemartyr 13:15, Final;

St. Finbarrs win Premier 2 U21 Hurling title

St. Finbarrs are Premier 2 Hurling Champions for the first time after a one point win over Bride Rovers.

In a game which had goals from ‘Barrs forward Brian Hayes with two and Brian Roche and Conleith Ryan for Bride Rovers, went all the way to the wire.

The final Quarter of the game saw sides level on a number of times as both teams battled for the winning score.

The ‘Barrs ran out winners 2-11 to 2-10.