Best wishes to Jerry O’Sullivan


This weekend’s GAA Congress will see the election of a new GAA President to succeed John Horan.

Cork’s Jerry O’Sullivan is running to become the 40th President of GAA and the 5th from Lee side.

Jerry is currently a member GAA Management Committee. He previously served as Chairman of Cork County Board before stepping up to Munster Council Chairman.

O’Sullivan was born in the hurling heartland of Cloyne, the club with which he hurled until into his 40s.
He was chairman of Cloyne from the mid-70s until the early 90s, during which he was also a player. He also served as PRO of the East Cork Board and later became chairman between 1992 and 1997.
Was elected as chairman of the Cork county board between 2009 and 2011 and was elected Munster chairman in 2016, finishing out his three year term last year when he was succeeded by Limerick’s Liam Lenihan.
He is father of former Cork hurlers, Diarmuid and Paudie O’Sullivan

There are five candidates in the hunt for the position along with Jerry,- Jim Bolger (Carlow), Jarlath Burns (Armagh), Larry McCarthy (New York), and Mick Rock (Roscommon).

The winner will serve as the 40th GAA President and will occupy the role from 2021 to 2024.

Jerry O’Sullivan fact file

• Played hurling and football at all levels for my club, Cloyne.
• Represented Imokilly in both codes.
• Managed and selected on numerous club and inter county teams
• Chairman of Cloyne GAA Club 1976 – 1992
• Current Vice President and executive member of Cloyne GAA Club
• PRO East Cork (Imokilly) GAA Board 1989
• Vice Chairman of East Cork (Imokilly) GAA Board 1990-1991
• Chairman of East Cork (Imokilly) GAA Board 1992-1997
• Cork County Board Youth Officer 1997-1999
• Munster GAA Development Committee 1997-1999
• Cork County Board Coaching Officer 2001-2005 (first)
• Munster GAA Coaching and Games Development Committee 2001-2005
• Cork County Board Vice Chairman 2006-2008
• Cork County Board Chairman 2009-2011
• Munster GAA Vice Chairman 2012-2015
• Munster GAA Chairman 2016-2018
• Croke Park Management Committee 2016-2018
• Fear an Tí Munster GAA Scór Sinsear Final 2019
• Fear an Tí All Ireland Scór Sinsear Final 2019