Current & Former Cork Legends to Line out Next Saturday for Teddy McCarthy Tribute

Tomás Mulcahy, Kevin O’Donovan, CEO Cork GAA, Sinead McCarthy, Daughter of the late Teddy McCarthy & Marc Sheehan, Chairperson Cork GAA at Páirc Uí Chaoimh ahead of the Teddy McCarthy Tribute Games this Saturday, December 9th tickets now on sale.

Double header in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on December 9th in memory of double winning legend

Fans are promised a rare inter-county December fixture list as Galway and Meath prepare to play Cork in a double header at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Saturday, December 9th next at a special event to commemorate the unique career of Teddy McCarthy.

Teddy McCarthy remains the only player to win Senior All Ireland titles in both hurling and football in the same year as part of the double winning teams in 1990.

Teammates from the 1990 season will also attend to remember Teddy’s contribution to the sport, both at local and national level.

The day will begin with a function for Teddy’s colleagues from the 1990 teams, who will also be introduced to the crowd at half-time in the respective games. Mini-games will include Glanmire Ladies Football, Sarsfields and Passage Underage teams as well as the North Mon first years.

Also on the day, a series of interviews will take place with some of Teddy’s former colleagues and opponents at a special event in the Seandun room.

Match tickets are priced €20 and €17 (OAPs & students) and are available to purchase here. All U16s are free. All proceeds go to the Teddy McCarthy Memorial Fund, and full details are available here

The game against Meath’s footballers will throw-in at 3pm, while the game against Galway’s hurlers will throw in at 5pm. Specially commissioned memorial trophies will be presented to the winners of each game.

Cork legend – and friend of the McCarthy family – Tomás Mulcahy says, “Only Teddy McCarthy could bring Intercounty action to Páirc Uí Chaoimh in December. We are very much looking forward to the day, as a fitting tribute to a man who gave his all for club and county. We would ask that fans, young and old, turn out next Saturday to show what Teddy meant to them. And we hope that fans around the country and around the world will watch the games on Rebels Online.

Wreath Laying Ceremony at Grave of John McKay


John McKay wrote up all the early GAA press reports for Cork, as well as his other duties.

A wreath laying ceremony took place at his grave in London on Saturday 2rd December 2023

It was hosted by Provincial Council of Britain and London County Board

Amhrán na bhFiann played by uilleann piper, Tom Lynch

 Blessing of grave and prayers led by Rev. John Buckley, PP Cricklewood, a Cork native.

 Wreaths laid by

1. Seán Óg McAteer (Down secretary) and Michael McArdle (Ulster Council PRO, from Down)

2. Michael Walker (Prov Council of Britain) and myself (GAA History Committee)

3. Amy O Connor, Cork All-Ireland winning camogie captain, on behalf of Cork

 John Arnold of Cork sang The Mountains of Mourne.

 Dónal McAnallen  gave an oration about John McKay and family which was followed by John Arnold singing  The Banks of my own Lovely Lee. This was followed by some laments being played on pipes.A rep from the Irish Embassy was also present.The pictures attached show Dónal McAnallen with the Down representatives and Phil McKay, a former Wicklow minor footballer and now resident and Aylesbury;  Amy O Connor (Cork Camogie captain) with John Arnold after the wreath-laying; and one of Rev. John Buckley leading prayers.