Cork Hurling team to play Waterford in Munster SHL

Cork hurlers travel to Dungarvan on Sunday next for Round 2 of Co-op Superstores Munster Senior Hurling League. The game will start at 2pm.

The Cork team to play

1. Ger Collins ( Ballinhassig)
2. Sean O Leary-Hayes (Midleton)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
5. Chris O Leary (Valley Rovers)
6. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
7. Tim O Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
9. Ryan Walsh (Kanturk)
10. Robbie O Flynn (Erins Own)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
12. Sean Twomey ( Courcey Rovers)
13. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
14. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock)
15. Jack O Connor (Sarsfields)
16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. Conor O Callaghan (Dromtarriffe)
18. Damian Cahalane (St.Finbarrs)
19. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
20. Niall O Leary (Castlelyons)
21. Tommy O Connell (Midleton)
22. Shane O Regan (Watergrasshill
23. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)
24. Seamus Harnedy (St Itas)
25. Sean O Donoghue (Inniscarra)

Cork vs Waterford in MSHL

Cork hurlers will travel to Waterford in their next game in Co-Op Superstores Munster Senior Hurling League.

The game will be played in Dungarvan on Sunday 29th of December with a 2pm start.

Cork’s opening game in the league took place on Friday 20th against Kerry. Cork ran out winners 1-27 to 0-11.


Game information  
Competition Co-Op Superstores Munster Senior Hurling League
Round 2nd round
Teams Cork vs Waterford
Venue Fraher Field Dungarvan
Time 2pm
Date December 29th
Referee Referee John McCormack (Tipperary)


Cork beat Kerry in opening Munster SHL

Cork score facile win over Kerry to open Munster League campaign

Report By Therese O’Callaghan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Cork 1-27 – 0-11 Kerry

The first game on Kieran Kingston’s return as Cork senior hurling manager was a victorious one at bitterly cold and sometimes wet Mallow tonight.

Youth and experience proved to be a winning combination as they gradually pulled away to see off their neighbours Kerry in the first round of the Co-Op Superstores Munster hurling league.

The straight-forward, and expected, victory in front of 250 spectators sets them up nicely for their final group game away to Waterford Sunday week.

When these two counties met last year in this competition, it resulted in a rare win for the Kingdom. However, there was never any hope of that being repeated.

The more familiar Rebel names of Shane Kingston, Luke Meade, Tim O’Mahony, Seán O’Donoghue and Damien Cahalane successfully backboned Kingston’s side – the manager made one change from the team announced earlier in the day with Shane Kingston replacing Conor Lehane.

Shane Kingston, Sean Twomey, Chris O’Leary, Robbie O’Flynn and Michael O’Halloran all rowed in in the point-taking stakes, while Ryan Walsh secured the only goal of the game six minutes into the second half.

Boss Kingston was obviously delighted with the result, and the overall display.

“We are happy, we had a very young team tonight, some of the lads who are not on our panel but were in for the night. We would have to be happy with their commitment and their attitude. They were trying to do the right thing which is all we can ask for.

“We scored 1-27 and had about 20 wides on top of that. We are a bit rusty. We are only back training a few weeks. We have a lot of gym work done, not a lot of hurling. From that point of view, you would have to be happy with a number of fellas who put their hand up tonight.”

Cork led 0-15 to 0-7 at the interval but they also shot 10 wides to Kerry’s seven. The visitors went toe-to-toe with the hosts for the first quarter, Kingston and Robbie O’Flynn were sharp for Cork while Shane Conway was the pick of the Kerry forwards

Twice Cork came near to goal on the run up to half-time, but Kerry custodian Martin Stackpoole denied Kingston both times. At the other end, Sean O’Donoghue did well to avert the danger near his goalmouth area.

Cork put some distance between the teams approaching the break. Sean Twomey rifling over a brace from distance and O’Flynn landing his third point to give the Rebels a half time lead of eight points.

It was Kerry’s turn to be wasteful in the second half as Cork piled on the pressure. They moved 0-16 to 0-7 ahead before Walsh got through for goal six minutes after the restart. Kerry only added another four points which was testament to a solid Cork rearguard that was headed up by O’Donoghue, O’Leary and Cahalane.

Both sides called in their replacements in the second half. And there was no let up from the winners with Cork’s Mark Coleman also getting in on the scoring act.

Scorers for Cork: S Kingston ( 0-5, 0-1 free), R Walsh (1-2), S Twomey, C O’Leary (0-2 frees) and R O’Flynn( 0-4 each), M O’Halloran (0-3), B Turnbull, M Coleman (0-1 free) (0-2 each), D Cahalane (0-1).

Scorers for Kerry: S Conway 0-7 (0-4 frees), S Nolan, D Collins, G Dooley and D O’Donoghue (0-1 each).

Cork: P Collins; D Lowney, E Murphy, S O’Donoghue; C O’Leary, T O’Mahony, D Cahalane (Capt); B Hennessy, R Walsh; R O’Flynn, S Kingston, S Twomey; L Meade, M O’Halloran, B Turnbull.
Subs: M Coleman for L Meade (half-time), S Óg O’Regan for S Kingston (45), C O’Callaghan for S O’Donoghue (50), E Roche for T O’Mahony (53 inj), B Roche for R O’Flynn (58).

Kerry: M Stackpoole; S Weir, B Murphy (Capt), E Murphy; D Shanahan, F Mackessy, T O’Connor; S Nolan, D Hunt; S Conway, D Collins, G Dooley; J Conway, M Leane, M Slattery.
Subs: P Lucid for D Shanahan (half-time), M Lenihan for S Nolan (half-time), S McElligott for M Slattery (52), D O’Donoghue for J Conway (58), F O’Sullivan for G Dooley (61).

Referee: John O’Halloran (Limerick)

Cork Team VS Kerry in Munster Senior Hurling League

Cork play Kerry tonight in Mallow at 7:30pm in their opening game of the Co-op Superstores Munster Senior Hurling League.

Cork Team to play

1. Patrick Collins Ballinhassig

2. David Lowney Clonakilty

3. Eoghan Murphy Sasrfields

4. Sean O’ Donoghue Inniscarra

5. Chris O’ Leary Valley Rovers

6. Tim O’ Mahony Newtownshandrum

7. Damian Cahalane St Finbarrs

8. Billy Hennessy St Finbarrs

9. Ryan Walsh Kanturk

10. Robbie O’ Flynn Erins Own

11. Conor Lehane Midleton

12. Sean Twoney Courcey Rovers

13. Luke Meade Newcestown

14. Michael O’ Halloran Blackrock

15. Brian Turnbull Douglas

16. Shane Hurley St Finbarrs

17. Conor O’ Callaghan Dromtarriffe

18. Eoin Roche Bride Rovers

19. Mark Coleman Blarney

20. Shane Kingston Douglas

21. Brian Roche Bride Rovers

Cork hurlers in action on Friday.

Cork’s 2020 hurling season will begin on December 20th.

This years Pre-season Munster Senior Hurling League competition will see six counties split into two groups. Cork are in Group B with Kerry and Waterford with Limerick, Tipperary and Clare in Group A.

Kieran Kingston’s side will take on Kerry in Mallow in our opening game with a 7:30pm start on Friday. Cork team will be named at 1pm on Friday.

After Christmas, we will travel to Dungarvan to play Waterford at 2pm on December 29th for our second game.

The top two sides from both groups will contest the final in early January.

Munster Senior Hurling League Fixtures

December 20th: Cork v Kerry, Mallow 7.30pm.
December 29th : Waterford v Cork, Fraher Field 2pm.