Cork win Canon O’Brien Cup

Cork hurlers opening game of the season was against UCCs Fitzgibbon Cup team.

A sizeable crowd braved the winter chill to see Cork take the Canon O’Brien Cup in the Mardyke – and, in honesty, to run the rule over Mark Keane, the newcomer to the Cork senior hurling team, who featured in the game.

Full report by Michael Moyihan is on

Scorers for Cork: S. Kingston (0-4 frees, 0-2 65s)(0-8); D. Fitzgibbon (1-1); C. Lehane (0-2); G. Millerick, M. Coleman, S. Harnedy, L. Meade, M. Keane, R. O’Flynn (0-1 each).

Scorers for UCC: W. Henn (0-7 frees)(0-10); S. Kenefick (1-1); M. Kehoe (0-2); C. Bowe, C. Cahalane (0-1 each)

CORK: G. Collins; S. O’Donoghue, G. Millerick, D. Cahalane; T. O’Mahony, M. Coleman (c), J. O’Flynn; C. Joyce, D. Fitzgibbon; M. Keane, S. Harnedy, C. Lehane; S. Kingston, A. Cadogan, L. Meade.

Subs: S. Twomey, R. O’Flynn, P. Power and C. O’Brien for Keane, Lehane, Meade and Cadogan (all 42); P. Horgan for O’Mahony (inj. 50); Meade for Millerick (55).

UCC: (Cork unless stated): I. Butler (Kildorrery); I. Daly (Lismore, Waterford), N. O’Leary (Castlelyons), K. O’Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary); R. Downey (Glen Rovers), T. O’Connell (Midleton), C. Barry (Ahane, Limerick); C. Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), C. O’Brien (Newtownshandrum); C. Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy, Tipperary), C. Boylan (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick), W. Henn (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick); M. Kehoe (Kilsheelin-Kilcash, Tipperary); S. Barrett (Blarney), S. Kenefick (Glen Rovers).

Subs: D. O’Leary (Watergrasshill) for Daly (40); S. Condon for C. Boylan (inj. 43); J. McCarthy (St Finbarr’s) for Butler (55).

Referee: M. Maher (St Finbarr’s).

Hurling team announcement for Canon O’Brien Cup

Cork team to play UCC in Canon O’Brien Cup on Friday has been announcend

1 – Ger Collins – Ballinhassig
2 – James O’Flynn – Erins Own
3 – Sean O’Leary Hayes – Midleton
4 – Sean O’Donoghue – Inniscarra (Vice Captain)
5 – Ger Millerick – Fr O Neill’s
6 – Damien Cahalane – St Finbarr’s
7 – Mark Coleman – Blarney (Captain)
8 – Tim O’Mahony – Newtownshandrum
9 – Darragh Fitzgibbon – Charleville
10 – Ciaran Joyce – Castlemartyr
11 – Colin O’Brien – Liscarrol Churchtown Gaels
12 – Seamus Harnedy – St Ita’s
13 – Alan Cadogan – Douglas
14 – Shane Kingston – Douglas
15 – Luke Meade – Newcestown
16 – Eoin Davis – St Catherine’s
17 – Mark Keane – Ballygiblin
18 – Sean Twomey – Courcey Rovers
19 – Robbie O’Flynn – Erins Own
20 – Conor Lehane – Midleton
21 – Patrick Horgan – Glen Rovers
22 – Padraig Power – Blarney

Canon O’Brien Cup Game

Canon O’Brien Cup will take place this Friday January 14th at 7pm. The game will be played in the Mardyke GAA Grounds with the Cork Senior Hurlers taking on UCC Fitzgibbon Cup team.

Admission to this game is free but every year UCC GAA club take up a charitable collection. This year Carrigtwohill St.Vincent de Paul volunteers will ask for your support. This collection recognises the contribution that Margot Hartnett gave to her community in Carrigtwohill and her close connection with UCC Sport.

Speaking ahead of the game on Friday, John Grainger, UCC GAA Club said, “Our Fitzgibbon Senior Hurlers take on the Cork Senior Hurlers to once again honour Canon Michael O’Brien for a cup in his name. Michael O’Brien is a name steeped in the history and folklore of UCC GAA. Along with Dan Beechinor and Prof Willie J Smith, he led the college to 10 Fitzgibbon wins in 11 years including the famous 8 in a row. O’Brien shaped the identity of a whole group of students at that time, something that is still being carried on today. Indeed that is what his legacy will say.”

Referee: Mark Maher, St Finbarrs

Our Fitzgibbon Senior Hurlers take on the Cork Senior Hurlers to once again honour Canon Michael O’Brien for a cup in his name.


Competition History 

Cork 5 wins, last in 2019, UCC 2 wins, last in 2020 (current holders)


2013       Cork       3-20       University College Cork  1-16

2014       Cork       2-19       University College Cork  1-14

2015       Cork       1-26       University College Cork  2-12

2016       Cork       2-12       University College Cork  0-13

2017       University College Cork  0-22       Cork       1-13

2018       No game took place

2019       Cork       1-24       University College Cork  1-23

2020       University College Cork  2-18       Cork       1-20

2021       No game took place