Kilworth GAA Win Silver Medal of Joe McDonagh Foundation 2022

The Joe McDonagh Foundation is a support service provided by Glór na nGael and the Gaelic Athletic Association to GAA clubs wishing to further the Irish Language in their community.

Joe Ó hEachteirn, CLG Chill Uird, ag glacadh boinn airgid Sheosaimh Mhic Dhonncha ar son a chlub. An chéad bhonn airgid as Corcaigh ó bhúnú na fondúireachta.

Joe Aherne of Kilworth GAA accepted the Silver Medal on behalf of his club at a ceremony on Friday 2nd December 2022. This is Cork’s first silver medal since the beginning of the Joe McDonagh Foundation. Kilworth were Cork’s only club to receive an award at the event which took place in Croke Park. Lá bhródúil dar ndóigh don chlub.

Joe Aherne, Kilworth GAA accepting the Silver Medal on behalf of his club. 

County Board Committee for 2023 confirmed

Following the passing of both dates of nominations and withdrawals, the following list of officers will be deemed elected at County Convention on December 11th. 
Marc Sheehan, Aghabullogue, will be leading the board as Chairperson. Marc will be commencing his 3rd year as Chairperson. The board Vice-Chairman is Pat Horgan from Midleton; Pat is also heading into his third season. Diarmuid Gowan of Fermoy will be the board treasurer for the coming year.
County PRO will be Francis Kenneally, Kanturk, for his second season. Donal Mac Suibhne will continue in his role as Oifigeach Gaeilge & Cultúir. Coaching Officer will be Jerry Walsh for his third year in office. 
At the final board meeting of 2022 in November, the following appointed officers were proposed for 2023. Children’s Officer: Eoghan O’Connor of Erin’s Own, and Clonakility’s Noel O’Callaghan will be Safety & Facilities Officer. Richard Murphy, Lyre, will continue in the Planning and Training Officer role.
Finally, our Central Council Delegate will be Tracey Kennedy (Killeagh), and our Munster Council Delegates will be Michael Byrne (Ballyhea) and Joe Blake (Adrigole).

Nominations for Officerships etc. 2023



Marc Ó Siocháin 


Leas Cathaoirleach 

Padraig Ó hArgain 



Diarmuid Mac Gabhann 



Proinnsias Ó Cinnfhaolaidh


OifigeachGaeilge & Cultúir 

Donal Mac Suibhne 



Diarmuid Breatnach 



Tracey Ní Chimnnéide 



Mícheál Ó Broin 

Seosamh de Bláca 

Cómhdháil Bhliantúil 2022

County Convention takes place this Sunday December 11th


The following are the arrangements.

  • Mass for deceased members at 3pm. 
  • Convention begins at 4pm
  • Refreshments at 5.30pm
  • Championship Draws at 6pm. 


Please find attached a copy of the Convention Booklet, which includes the various officers’ reports.


Download report

Competition Formats & Regulations 2023

Please see below, a copy of the Competition Formats and Regulations for 2023 as approved by the CCC.
It provides details of the Leagues and Championships along with the regulations.
Please note that the 2023 Championship Draws will take place this Sunday, December 11th at 6 pm following County Convention.

Ballygiblin retain Munster Junior title


Ballygiblin 3-12 St Kieran’s (Limerick) 0-11

Report from Denis Hurley, The Echo, read full report on 

Weekends won’t come better than this one for Ballygiblin’s Shane Beston.

On Saturday, he was married to Kildorrery native Emma Coughlan; then, on Sunday he celebrated his new status by helping Ballygiblin retain theirs – scoring 3-3 as they won a second successive AIB Munster Club JHC title.

A change in approach from Cork County Board made the unprecedented achievement possible – the Lower IHC was renamed the Premier JHC, with the winners advancing to Munster. Having won the county JAHC in 2021, Ballygiblin went on to claim Munster honours in their opening match of 2022, against Tipperary’s Skeheenarinky on January 9 – with the PJHC on the sideboard, they have matched that achievement as the goalscoring firepower was too much for St Kieran’s of Limerick. It’s not the end of the year just yet, though, as an All-Ireland semi-final against Commercials of Dublin or Wexford’s Horeswood awaits in a fortnight.

Beston’s three first-half goals ensured that Ballygiblin retired with a 3-2 to 0-7 half-time lead, after playing against the wind.




Scorers for Ballygiblin: S Beston 3-3, J O’Sullivan 0-9 (0-7 f, 0-1 65).

St Kieran’s: I Mackessy 0-10 (0-8 f, 0-1 65), D Treacy 0-1.

BALLYGIBLIN: C Noonan; L Finn, F Herlihy, J Mullins; B Coffey, M Keane, M Lewis; R Donegan, K Roche; D Flynn, D Barry, S Beston; C O’Mahony, S O’Sullivan, J O’Sullivan.

Subs: K Duggan for Barry (27, injured), D Sheehan for Lewis (53).

ST KIERAN’S: C Ambrose; D Mulcahy, P McCarthy, A Heffernan; JB Harnett, B McCarthy, C McEnery; S Ryan, M Shine; D Treacy, J McCarthy, C Mann; I Mackessy, J Muckell, E McEnery.

Subs: D Nolan for Muckell (11, injured), A Molyneaux for Mann (43), M Flynn for Nolan (53).

Referee: C Doyle (Tipperary).