Aghabullogue win Intermediate A HC

 Aghabullogue 3-17 Midleton 2-19 

AGHABULLOGUE held on to claim the Intermediate A HC title in a nail-biting affair with Midleton in SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday afternoon.

Matthew Bradley put in a man-of-the-match performance, scoring 0-14 overall, while Shane Tarrant and John Corkery also stood out as they shared the goals. With the best efforts of Aidan Ryan and Aaron Mulcahy, Midleton came back from seven points down, and levelled it heading into injury time.


Scorers for Aghabullogue: M Bradley 0-12 (0-8 f), J Corkery 2-0, S Tarrant 1-2, C Gillespie, P Ring, N Barry Murphy 0-1 each.

Midleton: A Mulcahy 0-14 (0-11 f 0-1 65), K Farmer 1-1, A Quirke 1-0, D McCarthy 0-2, A Ryan, G Reddy 0-1 each.

AGHABULLOGUE: F Foley; T Long, C Timmons, Jerome Corkery; T Buckley, P O’Sullivan, M Dennehy; N Barry Murphy, S Furey; John Corkery, P Ring, J Foley; M Bradley, S Tarrant, C Gillespie.

Subs: B Dineen for Gillespie (h-t), B Casey for O’Sullivan (44), D Quinlan for Long (50).

MIDLETON: Z Smith; C Gunning, C Murphy, D Scanlon; L Hennessy, J Nagle, G Reddy; A Daly, A Quirke; A Mulcahy, A Ryan, D McCarthy; T Roche, K Farmer, C Crowley.

Subs: A Power for Gunning (25 inj), P Dowling for Crowley (44), D Cagney for Roche (53), P O’Shea for Reddy (60).

Referee: Patrick O’Mahony (Kilbrittain)

Torthaí Craobh Scór Sinsir Chorcaí 2023

The Cork Sinsir Finals attracted a diverse entry with exciting cultural fare on offer in the Éire Óg GAA Pavilion, Ovens. That made for an exciting programme with the best of cultural fare on parade with strong competition from clubs from across the county. Sinéad Guiney did an excellent job as Bean a’Tí. Prizes were presented by Donal McSuibhne, Cultural Officer, Cork GAA and Tony McAulliffe, Chairman, Scór Chorcaí. The County titles were shared by clubs from Avondhu, Carbery and Duhallow. Cullen won the overall shield for the best club in Scór Sinsir, while Boherbue captured the Paddy Carroll Cup as the best Club in all three Scór competitions in Cork in 2023.


Rince Foirne:
1. Boherbue

Amhránaíocht Aonair:
1. Anna Moynihan (Cullen)
2. Ciara Walsh (Dohenys)

1. Joe Aherne (Kilworth)
2. John O’Sullivan (St. Johns)

Bailéad Ghrúpa:
1. Cullen
2. Carbery Rangers

1. Carbery Rangers

Ceol Uirlise:
1. Clann na nGael
2. Cullen

Rince Seit:
1. Boherbue

Tráth na gCeist:
1. Millstreet
2. Ballinascarthy

Overall Shield for best club in Scór Sinsir: Cullen

Paddy Carroll Cup for best club in Scór 2023: Boherbue

We wish the very best of luck to the Cork champions who progress to the Munster Final on Saturday, October 28th.

Sars win Premier Senior Championship

Sarsfields 0-21  Midleton 0-19

When Sarsfields won the Cork SHC in 2008 to end a 51-year wait, Teddy McCarthy was one of Bertie Óg Murphy’s selectors.

Having had to endure such a wait since 1957, the nine-year gap since 2014 until now could never compare but its bridging still brought a welter of emotion. And, while Teddy Mac could not be there in person, he was certainly there in spirit, his memory honoured long and loud by the Rivrstown faithful.

Sars didn’t lead until the 51st minute of the encounter, when Aaron Myers scored his tenth point to make it 0-18 to 0-17, but they had wiped out what was a five-point lead early in the second half and continued to enjoy the upper hand for what was left.


Scorers for Sarsfields: A Myers 0-12 (0-8f), Cathal McCarthy 0-4, J O’Connor 0-2, D Kearney, Colm McCarthy, D Hogan 0-1 each.

Midleton: C Lehane 0-7 (0-4f), R O’Regan 0-3, P Haughney, M Finn (0-1 sideline) 0-2 each, T O’Connell, S O’Sullivan, P White, C Beausang, T O’Leary Hayes 0-1 each.

SARSFIELDS: D McCarthy; Cathal McCarthy, C Leahy, P Leopold; B Murphy, E Murphy, L Elliott; C O’Sullivan, D Kearney; D Hogan, Colm McCarthy, A Myers; J O’Connor, C Darcy, S O’Regan.

Subs: L Hackett for O’Regan (43), J Sweeney for Darcy (49), B Nodwell for Hogan (53),

MIDLETON: B Saunderson; S Smyth, S O’Sullivan, S O’Leary Hayes; E Moloney, T O’Connell, C Smyth; M Finn, P Haughney; D Cremin, C Lehane, R O’Regan; C Beausang, L O’Farrell, P White.

Subs: P Connaughton for Cremin (45), T O’Leary Hayes for White (60).

Referee: C O’Regan (Ballyhea).

Castlelyons land PIHC title with win over Kilworth



Castlelyons 0-19 Kilworth 0-17 

CASTLELYONS have been crowned Co-Op SuperStores PIHC winners following a hard-fought win over Kilworth in the final at SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday afternoon.

Castlelyons had been knocking on the door over the last few years but they finally got over the line in what was an enthralling decider against a battled-hardened Kilworth side.

Castlelyons reached the final in 2020 and again in 2021, but were beaten on both occasions to Blarney and Courcey Rovers respectively. The team in green and gold weren’t going to be denied in their third final appearance in four seasons.



Scorers for Castlelyons: A Fenton 0-7 (0-6 f, 0-1 65), L Doocey, A Spillane 0-4 each, K O’Leary 0-2, C Spillane, O Hallihan 0-1 each.

Kilworth: M Sheehan 0-7 (0-6 f), B Sheehan, J Sheehan, E Carey 0-2 each, L Whelan, J Saich, C Donnellan, L Coffey 0-1 each.

CASTLELYONS: J Barry; L Sexton, N O’Leary, C Barry; C Spillane (c), D Spillane, J O’Leary; A Fenton, J Kearney; P Roche, L Doocey, C McCarthy; D Morrison, A Spillane, O Hallihan.

Subs: B Murphy for P Roche, K O’Leary for C McCarthy (both 36), S Moroney for J O’Leary (42).

KILWORTH: K Heggtveit; L Carey, K Lane, A O’Hara (jc); J Saich, D Twomey, M Gowen; L Whelan, E Carey; J Sheehan, N McNamara, W Condon; M Sheehan, C Donnellan, B Sheehan (jc).

Subs: L Coffey for C Donnellan (half-time), R Jordan for J Saich (48), P Riordan for W Condon (62, inj).

Referee: Wayne King (Banteer).

Erin’s Own win Premier Junior title


Erin’s Own 1-14 St Catherine’s 2-9

A strong finish to the first half on Saturday evening laid the foundation for Erin’s Own to achieve back-to-back county hurling titles.

For the third year in four since the reformatting of the Co-op SuperStores Cork Hurling Championships, the junior A winners have gone on to immediate glory in the next grade – previously known as the Lower IHC and now the Premier JHC.


Scorers for Erin’s Own: A Bowen 0-4 (0-1 f, 0-1 65), J Kavanagh 1-1, J McMahon 0-3, A O’Sullivan, R O’Flynn 0-2 each, T Foley, M Collins 0-1 each.

St Catherine’s: D Mangan, S Cotter 1-0, S O’Donoghue 0-3 (0-2 f), E Davis (0-1 f), B Mulcahy 0-2, O Fitzgerald, K Barry 0-1 each.

ERIN’S OWN: T Dillon; A Moynihan, P Fitzgerald, B Nolan; B Óg Murphy, I O’Mahony, C McDonnell; S Murphy, G O’Mahony; A Bowen, J McMahon, T Foley; A O’Sullivan, M Collins, J Kavanagh.

Subs: R O’Flynn for Foley (41), A Power for McMahony (54), C Dunphy for O’Mahony, C O’Mahony for Collins (60).

ST CATHERINE’S: E Davis; F O’Connell, E O’Riordan, L O’Conor; E Wallace, K Wallace, C Hegarty; O Fitzgerald, S Cotter; D Morrisson, R Galvin, S O’Donoghue; B Mulcahy, D Mangan, K Barry.

Subs: E Condon for Mangan, G O’Brien for E Wallace (both half-time), K O’Donoghue for Morrison, M Mulcahy for Barry (both 40), J Neville for O’Connell (51).

Referee: A Hyland (Kilworth).